My Oslo trip is coming closer and closer… I depart at 25th April. I have been planning the trip for some time. Actually, my usual planning is getting info on anything that could interest me (more that I could do) and then just adjust on site.

Continue reading to see what I have researched (or what suggested locals).

I was already once in Oslo (in winter 2010) so I’m not worried about the “major tourist attractions”. Here is what caught my attention (for now and future trips):

Outdoor

  • Frognerseteren > Vettakollen > Songsvann walk (less than 10 km) for the views. Arrival to start point by metro. This is the thing I’d like to do, suggested by my friend.
  • Ingierstrand beach. On the other side of town from Songsvann so definitely not this time. Arrival by Bus 87.
  • Akerselva river walk. Around 9 km. The minimum to do is to see the waterfall at Molla.
  • Utsitken, where Edward Munch painted “Scream”.
  • Akershus Fortress walk (7 – 21 Monday to Sunday). If I’d like a guided tour it’s 50 NOK.
  • Vigeland sculpture park.
  • Bygdøy Kongsgård (the royal farm). Sounds interesting.

Outdoor activities

  • Coffee and Photography – the last Sunday of the month meeting of both pro and amateur photographers. The event is organised by Where in Oslo. Time: 13:00 – 16:00.
  • Sightseeing Oslo by bike.

Outdoor shopping

  • Bogstadveien street market. Bogstadveien is the longest shopping street, but twice a year, the street is closed for cars and there is a market on the street. This year it’s 25th April & 12 September 2015. I found out about the event thanks to All Events website. I can’t possibly miss that!
  • Vestkanttorvet flea market (since 1989) on Saturdays 10:00-17:00. According to Google Maps, I could walk from the first to the second. I hope it’s true.
  • Birkelunden in Grünerløkka. Sundays from 12:00 to 18:00.

Indoor shopping

  • Tanum Litteraturhuset (bookstore & events) is open: Saturday 10:00-17:00, Sunday 12:00-16:00.
  • Tronsmo (bookstore) is open: Saturday 10:00-16:00.
  • Norli (chain bookstore) is open: Saturday 10:00-17:00.
  • Oslo City (shopping mall) is open on Saturday 10:00-20:00. This is the mall when I had to suddenly buy shoes last time. ;) Hopefully this time my shoes won’t be broken.

Indoor

  • SO (the L bar) is open on Saturday: 21:00-03:00, Sunday: 20:00-02:00.

These are my (future) plans. What did you see in Oslo or what would you like to see?

PS/EDIT: I have already come back from Oslo. I wrote already about my Oslo 2015 trip, but if that’s not enough, feel free to ask.

