The October’s Travel Challenge is about books. I’m an avid reader. I love reading books, in fact I have a blog about books too. I could talk about books for ages! And of course, when I go abroad, I have to visit a bookshop too. Most often I come back with a book as my souvenir.

Souvenirs

In Spain, when I was on a summer camp (around 18 years old), I came back with Spanish manga magazine as it was the time the Polish manga market was still in cradle.  I still don’t know Spanish. ;)

From Japan I came back with several books, including MPD Psycho‘s novels (based on manga, which produced real actors mini series also). Don’t read it unless you can bear cruelty.

Waktu Aku Sama Mika
Waktu Aku Sama Mika by Indi

From Indonesia, where I lived for a year, I came back with a lot of Indonesian books (don’t even ask me how many I have left behind). My favourite so far is Indi’s Waktu Aku Sama Mika, which was adapted to a film (bought that too). It’s a story of a scoliosis sick girl and her older boyfriend who has AIDS and during the “story” dies. It’s based on real events and it’s in the form of a diary. A very warm story.

On my second trip to Norway I came back with I refuse by Per Petterson, a well-known novel that is not a crime/detective story. Not that I have read it yet. ;)

 

Bookshops

Books in English in Warsaw can be bought in: Empik chain store (tho only the biggest have English section, probably in Złote Tarasy near the Central Station), Bookcity (close to Rondo Daszyńskiego, 2nd metro line stop), Bookland (close to Metro Centrum – a hub in city centre) and Co-Liber (Plac Bankowy, also a hub). Surprisingly enough, a shop labelled with Discover Poland (in the shopping area underground, near the Central Station) has no books in English. Not sure about the availability of Polish books translated into English in those shops but Empik should have some titles and Co-Liber has a separate Polonica bookshelf for sure.

Here are some photos from abroad:

Do you buy books on your trips abroad? What do you buy as souvenir?

