There are some things that you won’t hear (read) often about… I saw posts what to pack into a bag (or a backpack), how to keep your look fresh in-flight or even the warnings to not take cosmetics if you’re just with a backpack and buy cheaper in the destination country (assuming it’s cheaper than in your own country). But I haven’t really read any posts about daily (or not so daily) necessities in other countries. If you read a post like that, please drop me a link.

The idea for the post came to me when I was buying sanitary napkins in Poland on a quick break from work.

Poland

Sanitary napkins (podpaski) in Poland are classified by absorptivity (usually marked by blue drops) as well as (lack of) wings and thickness (normal vs ultra=thin).

Tampons and sanitary napkins can be easily bought in any drogeria (drugstore).

Deodorants and depilatory cosmetics are in various volumes (and prices). There are many depilatory cosmetics in drugstores, for example in cream or wax.

During winter, the basic cosmetic for many women is the fatty skin cream (for face and/or hands) with UV filters. In Poland it’s called krem tłusty (fatty) or półtłusty (semi-fatty).

If you want make-up cosmetics, I can recommend products of Polish company Inglot, which even has breathable (halal) nail cosmetics.

Japan

When I was buying the sanitary napkins in Japan (I got my period in a half-way of the trip and had to say bye bye to hot springs) I remembered I was the most surprised by a black (no-see-through) plastic bag that was used to pack specifically the napkins. In Poland wherever you go you see mostly white or light-coloured plastic bags which show the contents. The napkins were classified by centimetres.

I just bought those and painkillers in Japan, so I can’t comment on other things. Japanese cosmetic brands are rather well-known.

Indonesia

I don’t use tampons but I heard from my friend that at least in smaller towns you can’t actually get them. I didn’t notice differences with napkins (pembalut wanita).

Deodorants and depilatory cosmetics are rather small. They were quite expensive (for the volume). Don’t expect too big of the choice of depilatory cosmetics.

Even in Jakarta’s shopping malls there are stands with faked brand cosmetics. It’s definitely cheaper, but I can’t really talk about quality.

There is one important thing to note – shoes (even those bought in the shopping mall’s branded shops) are really fast to break (especially when glued). There are many shoemakers (quite cheap) who will repair them fast. Well, during rainy seasons (rains) it’s better to use plastic shoes like Crocs,  flip-flops or sandals.

 

What are your experiences with shopping for daily necessities? Or can you say how it’s in your place? If any man wants to comment on men necessities shopping, feel free to.

