As usual, like in my Oslo 2015 trip, I’m overplanning my trip. Some things I found generally online, I got also some inspiration about Vilnius from Kristyna Kubova. I hope she will manage to write about the food before I go to Vilnius, the overall post was interesting.

As usual, those plans won’t be completely valid, as after coming to town, I will go to the tourist information and ask for some more suggestions.

But let’s start from the first town… Riga.

 

Riga

  • book fair (Friday 10:oo – 18:00)
  • wooden architecture
  • Museum of the Occupation of Latvia 1940-1991 (I want to visit it to better understand the When the Doves Disappeared by Sofi Oksanen which I still want to read). Open daily 11:00-17:00.
  • Museum of Photography (Thursday, 12:00-19 entrance fee over 2 euro for permanent exhibition, need to pay a fee to take photos)
  • Riga Film Museum (Thursday, 11:00 – 20:00, entrance fee around 3 euro)
  • Golden bar & club (Thursday 17:0 – 02:00)

Some LGBT-friendly places in Riga are on Pride.lv’s website or on Gay Riga Map 2014.

Vilnius

  • book fair (Saturday 10:00 – 21:00 or Sunday 10:00 – 17:00)
  • Museum of Genocide Victims (Saturday 10:00 – 18:00, Sunday 10:00 – 17:00)
  • Literature Street (Literatu gatve) where Adam Mickiewicz 19th Polish romantic poet has lived. Actually he is considered the national poet of Poland, Lithuania and Belarus, lol.
  • Jeruzale Sculpture Garden
  • Republic of Užupis
  • The Hill of Three Crosses
  • Trakai (Polish: Troki) where there is Karaim synagogue (kienesa)
  • SOHO club (Saturday 22:00 – 07:00)

I found a map of LGBT friendly places in Vilnius on Foursquare.

 

Do you think I should see something else too?

