If you follow me on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram you already know that I have went to Katowice for a weekend, you also read some of my impressions and saw some photos.

But it’s time for more! More info, more photos and recommendations.

Trains

On the way to Katowice: I went with an old TLK train (one of express-type trains in Poland). Really old. Dirty. And crowded. People were standing or sitting in the corridors (it was a compartment coach, the most standard in Poland). It’s not the common sight nowadays and I was surprised to see it on Friday morning, moreover in the Katowice direction, which I thought isn’t too popular. Must be the summer vacation. Or so I think. The ticket was around 55 zł (around 12-13 euro).

On the way to Warsaw: I went with new IC (InterCity) train. New, clean, with sockets under the seats. I was sitting in a coach without compartments. During the trip we had a problem with electricity so the train was delayed by 10 mins and it stayed that way until Warsaw. The ticket price was similar to TLK. Go figure.

Hostel

I was in Jopi Hostel (at Plebiscytowa 23). The hostel was nice, the service was nice, the location was good (close ot the city centre but on the other side of the railways) but in the end I don’t recommend it. The area isn’t  too safe, as I heard from a local, and he told me not to wander around there in the middle of the night. Lots of night clubs and alcohol selling shops there too. Brrrr.

Katowice

The first look at Katowice wasn’t too impressive. Let’s be honest, I didn’t like it at all. It’s ugly.

But it gets better.

The symbol of Katowice is Spodek (English: Saucer) a place which host various events, concerts. Too bad that I got to know about the free guided tour in Spodek as a part of city’s summer activities too late (you need to register by mail, the number of guests is limited). Maybe next time.

Katowice's symbol – Spodek #Katowice #lovesilesia

A post shared by Sam (@thetravellersnotess) on

 

Here are some photos from Katowice. There are many events and things to do, I haven’t checked many of them, because my priority was meeting with my friends and then sightseeing. Katowice is a major city in coal mining region. Generally Silesia = mining & miners.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really had a great time there, with my friends and sightseeing. I want to go there again. See more and do more.

I had an unique experience in there, but I will save that for another post.

 

Would you go to Katowice?

