Actually the hometown memories post about my childhood memories related to my hometown is difficult for me. I don’t remember much from my childhood.

Cam from camescapes.com inspired me to write something more about food on my blog… So I’ll write a bit about the food I ate and drinks I drank during my childhood. It’s not exclusive to Warsaw, but I lived in Warsaw and enjoyed them here. I’m already 30+ so these are the 80s and 90s memories.

 

Food from my childhood

Warm ice-cream

A Polish snack "ciepłe lody" (warm ice-cream). Photo by SpiderMum CC-BY-SA 3.0
A Polish snack “ciepłe lody” (warm ice-cream). Photo by SpiderMum CC-BY-SA 3.0

Polish name is ciepłe lody which can be translated as warm ice-cream. It’s a sweet marshmallow in wafer, sold and eaten at room temperature. The shape and flavour may vary. You can still buy it at some bakeries or confectioneries. It tasted better when I was a kid, now it’s too sweet for me. :D

Sherbet

Oranżada w proszku (sherbet) was usually eaten.
Oranżada w proszku (sherbet) was usually eaten.

Polish name is oranżada w proszku (powdered orangeade). Actually this powder should be used with water to create a drink. But…! Most often we were just eating the powder. You should see our faces after that, it was sour! Actually, you can try it by yourself, when you come to Poland. It’s still being sold.

Drinks from my childhood

Orangeade

An orangeade which we actually drank. ;) (C) by retro.pewex.pl
An orangeade which we actually drank. ;) (C) by retro.pewex.pl

Actually it was an orangeade in a plastic bag (oranżada w woreczku) drank with a straw. Oranżada came to Poland in 18th century, imported from French cuisine. The original ingredients were water, sugar or syrup and orange juice. Now, of course, since it’s mass produced, the things have changed a bit. Those in plastic bags weren’t carbonated. Now you can buy a lot of carbonated oranżada in bottles. Sold at every shop.

Those aren’t of course all the tastes from my childhood, but I think it’s a nice introduction. I wrote about those that aren’t as popular now as they were in the past. You will often hear that “earlier things tasted better” and that the taste is different. But maybe it’s just a nostalgia filter. I’m not sure, are you?

 

What are the food and drinks from your childhood? You can comment or write a challenge post. 

